I heard on the radio today that Kim Jong-il just took his personal train into China and that got me thinking about trains. From murder mysteries and thefts to competing to becoming a tycoon and seeing the world, trains can offer a lot of possibilities.

One campaign for Call of Cthulhu that I’ve always wanted to play in is Horror on the Orient Express. Since it’s both a mammoth undertaking and out of print I have had no luck in finding a way to play it. The closest I’ve come is the actual play recordings I found over on Yog-Sothoth a while back.

Managing train track is something I have more experience of, thanks to Ticket To Ride. The game is quite simple, you try to build rails between different cities, but the balance between building quickly before anybody else takes a certain route and saving up resources to build the longer and higher scoring ones can be a fun challenge.

