One of the most disliked feature in Final Fantasy VIII was the junction system. It’s a system used for boosting the different character statistics and to give elemental or status effects to weapons and armour. The player must assign a summoned creature called a Guardian Force to enable the boosting. To increase a stat you need magic spells (who function like items in the game) which you can equip onto stats such as Strength, Vitality, Evasion and Hit-Rate. Which attributes that can be customized depends on what Guardian Force(s) you have junctioned. The Guardian Forces can learn to unlock more statistics to junction magic to by leveling up or by the use of special items.

I think this system is really interesting, I liked it when I first saw it and I still like it now. The possibilities it opens up for character customization are amazing, so when the thought of using it for a custom RPG system popped into my head the other day I knew I’d have to finish something before I could go on to another project.

