During last Sundays playtest of Jönköping Horror the topic of making a Final Fantasy game came up yet again. We in my gaming circle have many times before talked about writing our own roleplaying game based on the series of games, but this time we had a new idea, to create a co-operative board game.

I have been thinking about it for a couple of days now and it has been hard to come up with something original. My best idea so far is something similar to the game Talisman. The board would have lots of low-level areas along the outer edge of the board with some high-level ones in the middle. You would run around and do quests, slay foul monsters and level up you character, all the typical stuff from that type of game. What I’m lacking is the overall story, the big reason why the heroes are out on this epic quest.

Last time we talked about a Final Fantasy roleplaying game I suggested we’d use Dungeons and Dragons 4th Edition as our rules system. The FF games have lots of cool combat manoeuvres and few social skills, so DnD is a perfect fit. The rules system is made for tactical combat and everybody has a number of powers to use as they please.

Another suggestion I’ve had was to use the Savage Worlds rules. My biggest problem with it is that I haven’t yet played the system, only read it a few times, so I don’t really know how well it would fit.

I have spent a few hours today on a SW wiki and a FF wiki reading up on things. I’m not sure what will come out of this idea, but there is a chance that this seed will grow and blossom into many hours of entertainment.

