My Final Fantasy board game just keeps growing in complexity. The more I work on it, the more cards and tokens I need to keep track of everything. Thing’s might get out of hand soon.

Let me give you an example: This is what a midgame character probably would look like. On the top row we have two quest rewards, a race and a class card (not finished yet), some tokens for keeping track of health and mana, four coins, a weapon, an armour and an accessory. On the lower row we have four abilities, a die and two currently unused items. What is missing from the picture is action point tokens and tokens to keep track of bonuses to might and magic. I’m working on getting some.

When a player need to keep track of a dozen cards and a dozen tokens at the same time, things can get a bit messy. I want the players to have the tactical element of picking the right weapon or the right ability, but I don’t want to risk them getting caught in analysis paralysis.

So what’s my plan for solving this issue? The answer is colours! I am going to colour code everything; normal items will be green, abilities orange, races and classes grey, story quests white, dungeon cards purple, monsters red and quest rewards yellow. I hope this will help everybody to keep track of everything in the game.